Best Birthday ever

Yesterday 6th April I turned 40! I am excited. I feel 21 again. In the last few years especially in the last two I had to scatter many of my day dreams and begin to live in a real world. Becoming 40 has been a journey and I am looking forward to all the amazing things I would be doing within the next one year.

There is pressure and it gets wesser by the day but I like the pressure. It drawing me closer to my goals. Let me take you through the last 72hours of my day you ready? Ok hop on then.

On Thursday I decided I wanted to make zobo that I could give a few people for my birthday. Boiled the zobo but there was no light and I haven’t gotten around to setting up my Generator( moved to a new apartment on Monday) so I had to leave it in the pot to cool and go to bed. Woke in the middle of the night don’t know what time it was but I would guess 2/3am. My phone was dead couldn’t check the time but there was light so I decide to make hay while the sun was shining or rather make zobo whole the light was on. I successfully bottled 70 bottles of zobo and dumped in my freezer. Cleaned up after myself . For those who know me well that last bit of info is important. I hold a PhD in procrastination and seeing how tired I was from blending pineapple and mangoes, sieving zobo, washing bottles and filling them I would normally have left cleaning till later. Since I am on a journey to a better me, I did clean up. Decided to just clean the entire house in the process. After that I packed customers orders and labelled them ready for pick up. Then went back to sleep it was 6am at this time I think. I went to sleep with a pounding head and woke up with it. Went to do my photoshoot(see procrastinator doing photoshoot a day before the D day) my make up artist brighten my mood inspite of my headache when I saw my face I lit up. Took the photos then went back to work. The weather was so hot I was basically burning. Waited for my dress to arrive from Ibadan. After picking up my dress which I loved so much. I found the vendor who made it on Twitter her name is Odunmadeit. I came home to sleep still having the headache. Then I remembered I didn’t have fuel so I went to look for fuel. Found some but gtb was being a mean bank so I bought what my available cash could cover which was just enough to get me to the island the next day. My head was still pounding when I got home at 943 pm. I was going to lie down then I remembered I promised God 2 hours praise. So I got up at 10pm and began to praise my way into my new year. My head was still pounding when I started but we but forgot about each other after sometime. There was no light when I started so I was praising God in the darkness. At 11.43pm because I am a child of light and I always shine power was restored to usher me into my new year. Of course I turned on my boom play and let Florocka take over the praise and worship session. I went to sleep after but not for too long. I went to loose and wash my hair, and also paint my toe nails at 8am My make up artist was suppose to show up at 9am I called him before 8 to confirm and he said he will be at mine by 12. I was worried but since my event was for 3pm I was content to be getting him. By 1pm it was clear I was being taking for granted I had to leave the house to go find a make up artist in the neighborhood it was a gamble but thank God she did an amazing Job. Made it to the venue in good time and you should see the Joy on my face when everyone was just admiring me and cameras wanted to be in front of me. Of course as a show off girl I told everyone that cared to listen that it was my 40th. I even sang for everyone but omo google humbled me o! I am sure DJ wanted to throw me slipper for that mess up but it’s my bday so I get a free pass right? The event I attended was the Dang fest and I am excited that I chose to do that for my birthday. I got to spend a few minutes talking to the amazing Bisola, also listened to Chef T of Diary of a kitchen lover, talk about food content creation. I enjoyed all the sessions and my biggest takeaway was a statement Realwarripikin made. She said when you are at your lowest there is no where else to go but up. So Incase you are reading this from rock bottom congratulations darling you are going up. I danced to Nini’s performance. I also got treated like a Queen by the amazing team of Salt Lagos. Their dessert are so amazing I must visit soon.

I enjoyed talking with so many amazing women. Met a few who oozed of decorum something I am learning so ladies get ready to have a new bestie and of course I met my shoko people. By the way let me tell you for free, olive mordi is the real definition of a host. She killed her role men! It was nice to see some of my private dang Community member. I felt like a got a free bday party because it was everything I would have wanted from my bday if I had a party and it also didn’t have the one thing I usually don’t like at my parties being the center of attention. After all that partying I had to go rest my head. You are wondering where ans when I shared the zobo I spent hours making right? Dearly beloved I forgot the zobo at home. I was so disoriented when my make up guy didn’t show up I just practically rushed out of the house to go find a make up artist. So yes the Zobo is still in my freezer as I type. I spent the night at the Beautiful Bayview Hotel and resort. Listen if you Ever go there make sure you try their Jambalaya rice it was so delicious. I am salivating just thinking about it.

This morning got a call from a friend who decided he wanted to spoil me for the day. I was of course not going to say no. We went to the movies and saw a Long ass movie I am not telling you which movie but I can tell you though that I would rate the experience a 10 but the movie I would rate a 6.

We then proceeded to have lunch at Ile iyan, if you haven’t been there yet can you tell me why? Tori because… you would love it. The ambience is great the food it’s good. Absolutely great value for money. we played Ayo olopon. I saw that I wasn’t winning so I abandoned game. In all it was a fun filled time and I don’t regret any moment. Glad to be back home getting ready to serve my beautiful customers again tomorrow.

I look forward to writing you again soon until then, have a lovely week.

I am attaching a few pictures from my fun day and my photoshoot enjoy the view.

Leave a comment